Danish Mutual Insurance Association was chartered in 1886, and is believed to be the oldest continuous operating business in the Elk Horn, Iowa area. The initial organizational meeting was held on December 18, 1885. At that time it was proposed and decided to organize a Mutual Fire Association for Shelby and Audubon Counties in Iowa. The association began writing fire insurance for rural agricultural property only in 1886. As time progressed and reinsurance became available, the Association was able to provide insurance against loss from additional perils and for town property.

Danish Mutual Insurance Association is chartered as a 518A county mutual, providing the Association with a writing territory of 27 counties; Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Carroll, Cass, Clarke, Crawford, Dallas, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, Taylor, Union, Warren and Wayne counties. We insure farm property, city and suburban residences and personal property. Currently, 35 agencies are licensed with us. They have a total of 46 offices located throughout our operating territory.

In addition to our President, Treasurer and General Manager, we have two adjusters, three inspectors, an underwriter, assistant underwriter/policy processor, and an office assistant/payment processor.